Allowing Multiple Checkouts

Important Tip: After joining a developer to a project, we recommend that you return to the SourceSafe Options dialog in the VSS Administrator and uncheck the "Allow multiple checkouts" option and check the "Use network name for automatic user log in" option.

However, if you want to allow more than one user to modify a file, you should leave the "Allow Multiple checkouts" option checked. If you do, you will have to deal with merging the changes made to a file by different users.

More:

Using VPME with Source Control