Before you change the structure of a table (rename a field, delete a field or add a field) after you have created a view on it, read and apply the instructions set forth below.
Renaming and Deleting Fields
The issues when renaming and deleting fields are the same:
1. If a field you need to rename or delete is not among the fields selected in the VFP View Designer, there is no problem. Go ahead and rename or delete the field in the VFP Table Designer.
2. If the field you need to rename or delete is among the fields included in the view the following steps should occur in the order indicated:
· The field should be removed (unselected) from the view through the View Designer first.
· Then, the field should be renamed or deleted in the source table through the Table Designer.
· If renaming, the renamed field should be added back into the view through the View Designer.
Tip: If you rename or delete a table field in the Table Designer first, you will not be able to open the view that uses that table in the View Designer.
The only issue regarding the addition of fields to a source table is that after adding a field to the source table of a view, you will not be able to reopen the view in the View Designer if all of the fields in the view were previously selected in the View Designer using the Add All button.
Tip – Add All>> Button: If you use the Add All button to select all of the available fields for the view, move a field in the Selected fields list. If you do not do that and later add a field to the view's source table, you will not be able to reopen the view in the View Designer.